Call Us +91 60003 47405
Email Us

Department of Economics

About the Department

The Department of Economics, established in the year 1982, is one the nine departments of Sankardeva Mahavidyalaya. Initially, teaching was started in the department of Economics with the intake of 25 students in the Under Graduate (UG) classes. The department has introduced Major subject from the academic session 1983-84 having intake capacity of 30 students. The department also offered higher secondary classes till 2011. Now all the UG programmes of the department are based on Choice Based Credit System (CBCS). Since the inception of the department many teachers were appointed on permanent and contractual basis. Now the department has four permanent faculty members. The department has been carrying forward a number of Educational tours/ Field studies indifferent parts of Assam as well as in other parts of India and neighboring country i.e. Bhutan. The Department of Economics and the Department of Political Science jointly formed a common platform namely, ‘Eco-Political Forum’ with the objective of searching skill and talents among the students of both the departments. 

Faculty Members:

Dr Rakesh Sharma
Associate Professor (HOD)
Date of Joining: 1992-08-01
View Profile
Mrs Swapna Das
Assistant Professor
Date of Joining: 2015-08-06
View Profile
Dr Bhoirab Jyoti Konch
Assistant Professor
Date of Joining: 2022-09-24
View Profile